Dr. April Bridges-Poquis 2017-09-24T19:57:01+00:00

Dr. April Bridges-Poquis, D.D.S. — Orthodontist

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 12.43.20 PM

Dr. April Bridges-Poquis is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Virginia and graduated 2nd in her class from the Medical College of Virginia’s School of Dentistry. She completed her post-graduate training in orthodontics at MCV and is a member of several professional dental and orthodontic associations.

Dr. April Bridges-Poquis enjoys practicing orthodontics because it is unique in that as an orthodontist, you get to develop a relationship with your patients over several years. She loves seeing her patients’ smiles develop as they grow and mature. She finds it amazing to witness how creating a beautiful smile can influence a patient’s entire life. It increases their confidence and ability to fully enjoy their lives. Dr. Bridges-Poquis is a perfectionist and she loves creating the best possible smile for each individual patient.

Dr. Bridges-Poquis is married to her husband, Greg, and together they have 2 kids and a dog. She was born on the Marine Corps base in Quantico, and then moved every year afterwards. She grew up in Okinawa, Japan, (2 times) Hawaii, Twentynine Palms, California (middle of the desert), Quantico, Virginia, Virginia Beach, Virginia, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, and Northern Virginia. She loves the Richmond area because it offers many great places to run and hike, and it is a wonderful area to raise a family.

“I love seeing my patients’ smiles develop as they grow and mature. It’s also amazing to see how a beautiful smile can influence my patients’ entire lives!”

  • Bachelors degree: UVA. Chemistry with specialization in biochemistry 1994
  • DDS: Virginia Commonwealth University/ Medical College of Virginia 1998
  • Orthodontic Residency: Virginia Commonwealth University/ Medical College of Virginia 2000
  • Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society
  • Golden Key Honor Society
  • Alpha Epsilon Delta ( National Premed Honor Society)
  • Omicron Kappa Upsilon (National Dental Honor Society)
  • AD Williams Student Research Fellowship
  • I love to run. My 63 old dad and I ran our first half marathon together in 2012.
  • I enjoy listening to music and I play the flute and piano.
  • I love everything Disney and I visit Disney World as often as I can.
  • I love spending time with my husband, 2 kids, and a dog.
Request a Complimentary Orthodontic Consultation

Complimentary Ortho Consultation

Complimentary Pediatric Dentistry Meet & Greet